Anzac Day series – Christopher Shying (Arabic)

 كان Christopher John Lindin Shying ابن الحفيد Sai Ying Mak (المعروف أيضاً بإسم John Shying)، واحداً من أقدم المستوطنين الصينيين المولودين في أستراليا.

ولد Christopher Shying في ضاحية Summer Hill في سيدني في عام 1896. بعد تركه المدرسة كان يعمل كمتدرب مُمتَهِن لمدة 15 شهراً قبل تأهيله للعمل في تركيب النحاس. حاول الانضمام إلى الميليشيا المحلية ولكنه رفض على أساس كونه قصيرا للغاية. على أمل أن هذا لن يعيق محاولته للتجنيد في القوة الملكية الأسترالية (AIF)، أخذ أوراقه إلى ثكنات Holsworthy في 13 أغسطس 1915 واجتاز اجراءات التجنيد. وقد تم تخفيض الحد الأدنى من متطلبات الطول ل AIF في يونيو 1915.

وصل كريستوفر إلى فرنسا في عام 1916، حيث استقر في عمله كسائق لمقر الكتيبة الرابعة. يمكن للسائقين استخدام وسائل النقل التي تجرها الخيول أو الآلية، والقيام بمجموعة متنوعة من الأدوار. و شملت هذه العمليات نقل الجرحى و نقل المدفعية الثقيلة و ربط الضباط بالمقر و خط المواجهة و نقل الإمدادات إلى القوات. وكان تسليم الإمدادات مهماً بلا شك. أشار Charles Bean، مؤرخ الحرب الرسمي الأسترالي، في التاريخ الرسمي إلى أن هذا كان نشاطًا ليلياً بشكل أساسي:

يمكن سماع حشرجة العجلات الحديدية البعيدة فوق الحصى على جانبي الخط كل ليلة تقريباً في كل من الخنادق الأمامية… فظهور الطعام كان مرغوباً لكلا الجانبين.

رقم الانضمام: E01054
ستة خيول تسحب عربة أثناء ظروف زلقة في Ypres في 1917.

في غضون ستة أشهر تغير دور كريستوفر في الكتيبة من سائق إلى أمين مخزن. و كان من المهم بنفس القدر اقتناء و إعداد الزي الرسمي و المعدات لأفراد المشاة الذين يشغلون مواقع الخطوط الأمامية. تم طلب كميات كبيرة، كما يتضح من القائمة التالية للشعبة الأولى التي نشرت في التاريخ الرسمي:


20,000 بطانية
8000 سترة صوفية
8000 سراويل صوف
5000 جاكيت
40,000 خوذة غاز
21,000 حقيبة ضد للغاز
20,000 نظارة واقية ضد للغاز
14,000 خوذة حديد

رقم الانضمام: E03613
شاحنات السيارات مع سلاح الذخائر الاسترالي، تفريغ مخازن في فرنسا، 1918.

بعد ثلاثة أشهر كأمين مخزن تم نقل كريستوفر إلى سَرِية الإنقاذ من الدرجة الأولى. كانت تعرف باسم طيور البور في AIF – وهي جمع أشياء مثل الأسلحة والذخيرة والملابس وأكياس الرمل والأسلاك الشائكة من ساحة المعركة حتى يمكن إعادة استخدامها في العمليات المستقبلية. وقد أدى هذا إلى تقليل النفايات، وحرر مساحة الشحن التي يمكن استخدامها بعد ذلك لواردات إضافية.

وعندما توقف القتال في 11 نوفمبر/ تشرين الثاني 1918، تغيرت الجبهة الغربية تغيراً شديداً. وما كان في يوم من الأيام أراضي زراعية هادئة، يكمن الآن في الأنقاض، والأرض متفجرة و مقلوبة وملوثة بقمامة الحرب. وظل كريستوفر في فرنسا مع شركة الإنقاذ، حيث قام بجمع وتفكيك الأسلحة والذخائر والمعدات.

أبحر كريستوفر في فبراير 1919 إلى إنجلترا، حيث تم إلحاقه لاحقاً بمهمة الحراسة في مستودع للذخائر. وبينما كان يتمتع بالمعالم السياحية، التقىElsie Hawkins، خياطة شابة وتزوجا في 17 يناير 1920، ثم تقدموا بطلب للنقل العائلي إلى أستراليا. ووصل مع زوجته الجديدة وابنته الشابة إديث إلى المنزل في يوليو/ تموز. كان (كريستوفر) متغيباً لمدة أربع سنوات ونصف.

اقرأ أكثر:
https://www.awm.gov.au/learn/schools/resources/anzac-diversity/chinese-anzacs/christopher-shying

هذا المنشور متاح أيضًا في: English (الإنجليزية) 简体中文 (الصينية المبسطة) 繁體中文 (الصينية التقليدية) Tiếng Việt (الفيتنامية)

Anzac Day series – Christopher Shying (English)

Christopher John Lindin Shying was the great grandson of Sai Ying Mak (also known as John Shying), one of the earliest known Chinese-born Australian settlers.

Christopher Shying was born in the Sydney suburb of Summer Hill in 1896. After leaving school he worked as a trainee apprentice for 15 months before qualifying as a brass fitter. He attempted to join the local Militia but was rejected on the grounds of being too short. Hoping this wouldn’t impede his attempt to enlist in the Australian Imperial Force (AIF), he took his papers to Holsworthy Barracks on 13 August 1915 and passed the enlistment process. The minimum height requirement for the AIF had been reduced in June 1915.

Christopher arrived in France in 1916, where he settled into his role as a driver for the 4th Battalion headquarters. Drivers could use horse-drawn or motorised transport, undertaking a variety of roles. These included transporting the wounded, moving heavy artillery, connecting officers to headquarters and the front line, and ferrying supplies for the troops. The delivery of supplies was undoubtedly important. Charles Bean, the Australian official war historian, noted in the Official histories that this was mainly a nocturnal activity:

The distant rattle of iron wheels over the cobblestones on both sides of the line could be heard almost nightly in both the front trenches … the advent of food being desirable for both sides.

Accession Number: E01054
Six horses pull a wagon through slippery conditions in Ypres, 1917.

Within six months Christopher’s role in the battalion changed from driver to storeman. Equally important was the acquisition and preparation of uniforms and equipment for the infantrymen manning the front-line positions. Vast quantities were demanded, as seen by the following list for the 1st Division which was published in the official histories:

20,000 blankets
8,000 woollen vests
8,000 woollen drawers
5,000 cardigan jackets
40,000 gas helmets
21,000 anti-gas satchels
20,000 anti-gas goggles
14,000 steel helmets

Accession Number: E03613
Motor lorries with the Australian Ordnance Corps, unloading stores in France, 1918.

After three months as a storeman Christopher was transferred to the 1st Division’s Salvage Company. They were known as the bower birds of the AIF – picking items such as weapons, ammunition, clothing, sandbags, and barbed wire off the battlefield so they could be reused in future operations. This reduced waste, and freed up shipping space which could then be used for additional imports.

When the fighting stopped on 11 November 1918, the Western Front had been severely changed. What had once been quiet farming land now lay in ruins, the land cratered and churned, polluted by the litter of warfare. Christopher remained in France with the Salvage Company, collecting and dismantling weapons, ordinance, and equipment.

Christopher sailed in February 1919 for England, where he was later attached to guard duty at an ordnance depot. While enjoying the sights he met Elsie Hawkins, a young tailor. They married on 17 January 1920, and then applied for family transportation to Australia. With his new wife and young daughter, Edith, they arrived home in July. Christopher had been away for four-and-a-half years.

Read more: 
https://www.awm.gov.au/learn/schools/resources/anzac-diversity/chinese-anzacs/christopher-shying

This post is also available in: 简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified)) 繁體中文 (Chinese (Traditional)) العربية (Arabic) Tiếng Việt (Vietnamese)