南澳大利亚州印度裔协会

每年,南澳大利亚州印度裔协会以梅拉节 (Mela festival) 为平台,将澳大利亚的各个印度裔社区汇聚在一起,与更广泛的澳大利亚社区一道,共同促进文化包容、跨文化交流和文化连接。 

文稿: 

[Niraj Pandya]: 包容他人,不仅是让自己快乐,而且是将快乐传播给所有其他人,这也是印度文化与更广泛的澳大利亚文化和价值观之间的相通之处。 

[Priya Premkumar]: IAASA 的主要目的、主要目标是在印度人以及当地社区和澳大利亚社区中推广印度文化。 

[Niraj Pandya]: IAASA 是不歧视他人信仰的组织之一,也不歧视你来自哪个州或说什么语言。 

[Trimann Gill]: 如果你来参加我们的任何活动,你就会看到来自其他文化的人们也参加了这个活动。 

[Niraj Pandya]: Mela 是南澳大利亚每个人都可以免费参加的印度节日庆祝活动。 

[Trimann Gill]: IAASA 的 Mela 活动每年都在发展壮大。我想它在这里已经创办了 28 年了。最开始可能只有 100 人。现在估计我们两天内有多达 2 万人参加 Mela。我们试图让所有州都参与进来。每一种文化都能得到代表。如果你参加两天 Mela 的活动,就可以在那里看到印度每个部分的文化。 

[Niraj Pandya]: 因此,Mela 推广跨文化主义和多元文化主义。过去,我们有许多来自其他多元文化社区的表演。 

[Priya Premkumar]: 我们希望将我们的文化和传统推广到更广泛的社区。他们也会把他们的文化传统回馈给我们,这给了我们许多快乐。 

维持联系、裨益社区。” 

我们采访了南澳大利亚州印度裔协会,深入了解他们在 2019-20 年山火期间如何无私支援南澳大利亚社区。 

文稿: 

[Niraj Pandya]: 我们说要让大家聚集到一起。我们说要弘扬多样性。我们说要弘扬包容性。我认为 IAASA 所做的不仅仅是将印度社区,而是将更广泛的澳大利亚社区聚集到一起,来分享多元文化主义以及我们所生活的澳大利亚这样一个美好的国家。 

[Trimann Gill]: 我们是印度人,但现在我们是澳大利亚的一份子,所有这些成为澳大利亚公民的人都可能来自其他国家。他们就像我们的兄弟姐妹一样,我们会支持他们。 

[Niraj Pandya]: 我认为人们之间的联系确实帮助了许多印度人融入更广泛的澳大利亚社区,因为他们看到,当他们挺身而出的时候,会有其他社区的其他人与他们并肩站在一起,去实现一些事情,去创造改变,让他人的生活变得更美好。 

[Trimann Gill]: 我们设法从我们的社区为丛林大火筹集了约 5,000 澳元。此外,我们也像许多志愿者一样,去了袋鼠岛做志愿者工作。当我们向我们的民众表明南澳大利亚州现阶段需要帮助时,我们的社区挺身而出,并竭尽所能筹集了资金。 


© Frankie Films 2021 made under licence

澳大利亚人的定义并不基于种族、宗教或文化,而是基于自由、尊重、公平和机会平等的共同价值观。 了解更多关于澳大利亚七大价值观及其含义的信息。

请在此处进一步了解澳大利亚价值观。

本贴文还发布于: English (英语) 繁體中文 (繁体中文) Tiếng Việt (越南语) العربية (阿拉伯语)

On Thursday 29 February 2024 the Australian Values Program and its online engagement channels will be closed. We would like to thank everyone who shared their stories or engaged with the Australian Values Program in its three years of operation through the website, X, YouTube, Instagram and Facebook.

The values will continue to hold their place in our diverse and inclusive community through other initiatives, as well as playing an integral part of the visa application process and Australian Citizenship test. For more info visit the Australian Values page.

X

Indian Australian Association of South Australia

Each year, the Indian Australian Association of South Australia uses the Mela festival to bring together different Indian-Australian communities and the wider community, promoting inclusion, inter-culturalism and connection.

Transcript:

[Niraj Pandya]: Being inclusive, not just keeping happiness to yourself. Spreading that happiness to all other people is also something which is very common between Indian culture and wider Australian culture and values.

[Priya Premkumar]: The main purpose, the main objective of IAASA is to promote Indian culture among the Indians and also among the local communities, the Australian communities.

[Niraj Pandya]: IAASA is one of the organisation that do not discriminate about religion or what state you belong to or what language you speak to.

[Trimann Gill]: If you ever come to any of our events you can see other cultural people also attending this event.

[Niraj Pandya]: MELA is a free Indian festival for everyone here in South Australia.

[Trimann Gill]: IAASA MELA is growing every year. It’s been here for now I think, 28 years. It started with maybe 100 people. And now if you say we are gathering goes up to 20,000 people attend the MELA in two days. We try to get all the states involved. Each and every culture is represented there. If you sit for two days in a MELA, you can see every part of India.

[Niraj Pandya]: So, MELA promotes interculturalism and multiculturalism. In the past we have had a number of performances from other multicultural communities.

[Priya Premkumar]: We want to promote our culture and tradition to the wider community and they give it back to us and it gives us a lot of happiness.

“Being connected helps communities.”

We’ve spoken to the Indian Australian Association of South Australia about how they supported volunteer efforts during the 2019–20 bushfires.

Transcript:

[Niraj Pandya]: We talk about coming together. We talk about celebrating diversity. We talk about celebrating inclusion. And I think what IAASA does is bringing not just the Indian community, but the wider Australian community together to share that multiculturalism and the fantastic country that we live here in Australia.

[Trimann Gill]: We are Indians, but now we are a part of Australia and all the people who are Australian citizens, maybe they have come from any other country, they are like our brothers, sisters, and we support them.

[Niraj Pandya]: And I think that’s that connection is really helping a lot of Indian people to settle into wider Australian community because they see that when they stand up there are other people from the other communities standing up alongside them to make things happen, to create that change, to make somebody’s life better.

[Trimann Gill]: We did manage to get around $5,000 for the bushfire from our people and plus we also, like many volunteers, did go to Kangaroo Island to do volunteer work as well. When we came out to our people that South Australia needs help at this stage and our community stood up and did whatever they could to raise the money. 


© Frankie Films 2021 made under licence

We are not defined by race, religion or culture but by the shared values of freedom, respect, fairness and equality opportunity. Find out more about the seven Australian values and what they mean.

Learn more about the Australian values.

This post is also available in: 简体中文 (Chinese Simplified) 繁體中文 (Chinese Traditional) Tiếng Việt (Vietnamese) العربية (Arabic)