纪念澳新军团日

[Rabbi Lieberman:] 我认为当犹太人参加澳新军团日纪念活动时,会为自己而感到非常自豪。我们会到Kings Park的犹太战争纪念馆参加黎明纪念仪式,并宣读澳新军团摩西五经(Anzac Torah)。​

这部摩西五经被带到了西方战线(Western Front),交给了犹太士兵。所有犹太人都能够在困难时期践行自己的宗教信仰,这是我们非常自豪的事情。​

[Margot:] 战争遗孀协会(War Widows Guild)通过在悉尼的圣安德鲁大教堂(St Andrew’s Cathedral)举行庄严的仪式来纪念澳新军团日。我们将刻有我们丈夫名字的小十字架种在大教堂外的一个小纪念花园里。​

她们也曾失去过生命中一些重要的人,她们真心地把我当作朋友。​

[Lewis:] 澳新军团日对华人社区意义重大,我们想纪念那些为我们牺牲的人。正是因为他们才成就我们这样一个和平和谐的国家。我代表澳洲华人战争纪念委员会(Chinese-Australian War Memorial Committee)敬献花圈,向澳大利亚国防军中的华裔军人致敬,我感到非常自豪和荣幸。

​[Margot:] 战争遗孀协会纪念的是军人间彼此的守望和相互支持。

​[Lewis:] 澳新军团的精神是同伴情谊,关乎的是帮助朋友,互相帮助,这与身份无关。无论是退伍军人还是普通的委员会成员,澳新军团的精神都将大家团结在一起。

​[Rabbi Lieberman:] 澳新军团成员都是普通人,就连最伟大的莫纳什将军,也是如此。作为一名澳大利亚犹太人,他站在我们所有人的前面,表明我们既可以是矢志不渝的犹太人,也可以是坚毅自豪的澳大利亚人。​

[Margot:] 我认为这里要传达的信息就是携手与共,齐心支持我们的国家。

​[Rabbi Lieberman:] 我们享受着无与伦比的自由:宗教自由、言论自由。这就是他们前仆后继的目标,澳新军团日的意义所在,这也是为什么我们要纪念他们;没有他们,我们就不会有今天的生活。

This post is also available in: English (英语) 繁體中文 (繁体中文) العربية (阿拉伯语) Tiếng Việt (越南语)

Commemorating Anzac Day

[Rabbi Lieberman:] I think that the Jewish people when they come to Anzac Day are very proud of who they are. We will come to the Dawn Service here in Kings Park, at the Jewish War Memorial, and bring out the Anzac Torah.​

This Torah was taken to the Western Front and administered to the Jewish soldiers. All Jewish people were able to celebrate their religion in a difficult time, and that is something we are very proud of.​

[Margot:] The War Widows Guild commemorate Anzac Day by having a wonderful service at St Andrews Cathedral in the City of Sydney. We have these little crosses bearing our husband’s name and plant them in a little memorial garden outside the cathedral.​

They have similar losses in their lives, but they’ve accepted me as just a friend.​

[Lewis:] Anzac Day means a lot to the Chinese community because we want to honour those who sacrificed for us, to make us a peaceful and harmonious nation. I feel very proud and very honoured to lay the wreath on behalf of the Chinese-Australian War Memorial Committee to honour those Chinese-Australians in the Defence Forces.​

[Margot:] The War Widows Guild commemorate the companionship, the mutual support, that the servicemen showed to one another.​

[Lewis:] The Anzac spirit is about mateship. Mateship is about helping your friends, helping each other regardless of who you are. Whether you are a veteran or you are an ordinary committee member, it unites everybody together.​

[Rabbi Lieberman:] The Anzacs were normal guys, even the greatest of all, General Monash. As a Jewish Australian, he stands above us all to show that we can be devoted Jews but still be strong and proud Australians as well.​​

[Margot:] The message I think is stand together, unified, support your nation.​

[Rabbi Lieberman:] We experience such great freedoms: freedom of religion, freedom of expression. That is what they fought for on Anzac Day and that’s why it’s importance for us to honour them; otherwise, we wouldn’t have what we have today.

This post is also available in: 简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified)) 繁體中文 (Chinese (Traditional)) العربية (Arabic) Tiếng Việt (Vietnamese)