澳大利亞價值觀小組討論

甚麼是澳洲價值和作為澳洲人的意義?我們正與 Academy Alive  合作找出答案。

觀看主持人 Nadia Saeed 和我們的小組成員 Ali Kadri、Ree Ali、Ansary Muhammed 和 Beny Aterdit Bol OMA 討論社區的重要性和我們的共同價值。

文本:

[Nadia Saeed]: 當一位澳洲人對您來說是什麼意思呢?還有,什麼價值觀對您來說最重要呢?

[Beny Bol]: 我覺得這個是一個很好的問題。對我來說,作為澳洲人最重要的就是包容、社會的包容、民主的價值觀、互相尊重的重要性。那些價值觀令我很有共鳴。

[Ali Kadri]: 我覺得,對我來說,作為澳洲人就是作為一個尊重和接受多樣性的社會和國家的一部份。我還覺得這是一個很重要的關鍵因素,而這個因素在世界上很多國家往往都找不到。

[Ree Ali]: 我很熱愛這個國家的宗教自由。我很欣賞大家可以實踐他們的信仰。另一個我很喜歡的價值觀是夥伴關係。我注意到了澳洲人要是看到了糟糕事很善於過去幫助。大家走過來互相幫助的情景極好的。我在別的地方沒有看到過。

[Ansary Muhammed]: 作為澳洲人就是多樣性,幫助社區,手拉手,像一家人一起前行。

[Ali Kadri]: 在世界上很少國家讓你可以真的說你是自由的,作為一個公民,作為一個個體,而我覺得澳洲是其中一個讓你可以真正說你是自由的。你真的可以說你想說的。只要不傷害別人的話,你可以做任何你想做的事。

[Beny Bol]: 絕對是的。這就令我覺得要談及一些創造了很久的制度的重要性。加上您看看這些制度為我們所有人建立的環境,而且我們走在一起,不論宗教、種族、政治觀點做自己做的事,所有來自不同宗教、種族背景聚在一起,互相認可對方。當你看看其他國家,它們不能做到這點。這就帶出這套系統和制度的重要性,不論人們的社會地位,人人受到公平對待。

[Beny Bol]: 所以這就是我們身為澳洲人必須很引以為榮的東西,因為不是很多社會和國家可以享受這些特權,而這就是我喜歡這個國家的原因之一。

[Nadia Saeed]: 請問你能簡單講述是甚麽啟發你在社區工作嗎?

[Ali Kadri]: 我覺得,尤其對我來說,能生活在這個國家是一種特權,所以隨之而來的責任就是要保持澳洲的價值觀和澳洲的意義,以及留下一些貢獻令這個國家有更好的將來。因為我們所有在這裡的人,有幸在這裡的人,都要作出貢獻,不但確保澳洲維持現況,更要變得更好。

[Beny Bol]: 我2007年用人道主義簽證來澳洲,而且我來的時候甚麽都沒有,然後過了幾年我發現我無論去到任何地方都被認可。那是因為我被賦予了能力。我被這個國家的人賦予了能力。我被這個系統賦予了能力,而且他們看到了我的內涵。那代表如果我們賦予人們能力並給予他們機會,你真的不知他們可以為你帶來甚麼,你知道嗎?

[Beny Bol]: 當我來的時候,沒有人知道我的內涵、能力和所有東西。所以,我來的時候,甚麼都沒有。我在這裡上大學,取得兩個碩士學位。如果我是在澳洲以外的地方,我是沒有可能發輝的我潛能的。我想這也是我們要對其他人做的事,賦予所有人能力,以確保他們可以實現自己的夢想和發輝自己的潛能,以及了解活出生命意義的重要性。你想別人記得你是一個怎樣的人呢?因為你不會永遠活著,而且你不知道你這一生何時離開,所以你須要做點事,賦予別人能力,以及令人記得你做過甚麼。

[Nadia Saeed]: 關於如何鼓勵所有澳洲人展現團結,並互相尊重及接受他人方面,你有甚麼提議嗎?

[Ree Ali]: 我一直以來的目標是消除人們與其他信仰人士之間的隔膜和對他們的看法。無論你來自哪一種宗教,你仍然有偏見。而且我們大部份人都會有因為在自己的國家文化中長大而形成的偏見。而當我們來到澳洲,我們發現其實正在與我們一起生活、工作、通勤的人可能就是我們被告知不要一起相處的。所以互相了解的最好方式就是給予他們機會一起相處。如果你給予人們機會在喝一杯茶、咖啡和吃一塊餅乾的時候,透過非常随意的對話相處,先建立友誼,然後你可以說:「啊,順帶一提,我來自···」我還希望看見的就是更多來自不同宗教的年輕群體相聚在一起。

[Ansary Muhammed]: 對我來說,當我們八年前開始 Homeless Run 的時候,我們是與另一個名為Rosie’s 的組織一起的,他們是一個基督教組織,和我們的信仰完全不同的。那就是伊斯蘭教的一個美好之處,我們會邀請所有人。不應該只有一個宗教在街上幫助人。首先,我們所有人都是人類。所以身為澳洲人就已經是很奇妙的事,能和一個多樣化的團隊一起做事,不論你的宗教、種族、來自的地方,有那個機會去代表自己。

[Ali Kadri]: 而且我覺得那是值得保護的。那就是身為澳州人的意義。主張分裂的就不是澳洲人。我覺得團結就是身為澳洲人的意義。

[Nadia Saeed]: 你可以簡單告訴我們多元文化社區在澳洲面對甚麼挑戰,以及我們可以如何克服部份挑戰嗎?

[Ali Kadri]: 很多多元文化社區對他們的身份感到矛盾,不知道那是否宗教身份。有時候那是因為他們在社交媒體上看到的言論。我跟我學校裡的很多年輕人談話,雖然他們在澳洲出生及長大,有時候他感到他們不是澳洲人,他們不被接納。那是一個挑戰,一個大挑戰,甚至是身份危機。那是很多年輕人都要經歴的,很多年輕澳洲人要經歴的。

[Beny Bol]: 對。我很同意Ali 所說的。我覺得能夠看見人們在各行各業晉身領導地位是很重要的。那會啟發年輕人看到自己在這裡的機會,不受他們的地位限制。

[Nadia Saeed]: 你可以告訴我是甚麼令你保持熱誠,繼續與你社區內的年輕人一起工作嗎?

[Beny Bol]: 只有少許原因。是我家庭對於努力工作和同情心的價值觀。以及知道我們就是最能解決自身問題、挑戰和年輕人面對的問題、挑戰的。年輕人自己就是這些問題的最佳解決方法。 

[Beny Bol]: 現在有一個趨勢出現在幾個 CALD 社區,就是相對年輕的人能夠晉身領導地位。你可以看到四周有很多正面的轉變和能量,而且很多前輩站在他們背後支持他們。那就是我們須要鼓勵的。

[Nadia Saeed]: 宗教自由對於你來說是甚麼呢?為甚麼宗教自由,包括不相信任何宗教的自由,在澳洲是重要的呢?

[Ali Kadri]: 我覺得宗教自由重要是因為雖然澳洲沒有國教,但是所有在澳洲有人奉行的宗教都是澳洲的宗教。所以,伊斯蘭教、基督教、印度教、猶太教以及其他的,所有人們奉行的都是澳洲的宗教。它們對於澳洲來說不是陌生的。還有就是,選擇不奉行宗教信仰的同樣是澳洲人,但是我們的國籍就是我們之間的聯繫,而且我們須要尊重我們的自由,無論是奉行宗教的自由,還是不奉行宗教的自由。當我們了解這點後,我們就不會那麼批判別人。

[Beny Bol]: 我喜歡從歴史中學習。當你看看世界歴史,以及不同國家所享有的和平、穩定、繁榮,背後原因就是宗教自由、言論自由那些價值觀。那是非常重要的。

[Ansary Muhammed]: 澳洲文化美麗之處就是你可以去清真寺禱告,或者去教會。所有門都是打開的,無論哪裡你都可以去,不論你的宗教以及你來自哪裡。

[Nadia Saeed]: 所有移民都為澳洲帶來很豐富的歴史和文化。為甚麼那很重要呢?

[Ree Ali]: 移民的確為澳洲帶來非常豐富的歴史和文化。我覺得那是給予主流澳洲人學習那些歴史和文化的機會,因為說到底,我們須要知道世界上人與人之間的距離開始變小。不是嗎?這個世界變得前所未有那麼小,而且認識來自其他文化背景和宗教信仰的人是從未如此容易。我們要教導孩子們,他們的祖先建立了這個國家,並引以為榮,那是很重要的。

[Nadia Saeed]: 你在社區裡工作之中,最難忘和有回報的經歴是甚麼呢?

[Beny Bol]: 2018年至2019年之間,有一些事件涉及我們當中的年輕人,以及關於非洲裔年輕人罪案,我每天都接受很多採訪。每天我出現在媒體上,我收到大量不是來自非裔社區的訊息。它們是來自不同人士,政治領袖、社區領袖,以及社區中不同人士,出於他們對我的關心。他們會發訊息給我。你一切安好嗎?別緊張。我們支持你,如此類推的。這令我感到很安心和欣慰,以及欣賞澳洲這個國家。

[Nadia Saeed]: 這很棒呀。這展現了你們與別人的關係多麼緊密,展現了彼此尊重。謝謝你,Beny。

[Ali Kadri]: 關於這點,我很快補充一點。你記得基督城襲擊嗎?基督城襲擊發生後,我們馬上在布里斯本伊斯蘭學院擧辦了一個社區活動,超過4000 人出席了。當那次慘劇發生後,把更多人帶到一起,展現了團結精神。我身為一名穆斯林,我雖然感受到了痛苦,但是那痛苦稍為減輕了,而且我對未來有希望。我覺得那件事有助人們統一,那是歸因於我們身為澳洲人擁有的價值觀。

[Nadia Saeed]: 那次基督城事件正正就令我保持熱誠在社區中打破隔膜,在這個美麗的國家慶祝和享受一切,而不是在壞事情發生後才聚集一起。我們有自由。我們有互相尊重。所有人有公平機會及待遇。但是我想問你的問題是我們有甚麼可以慶祝呢?       

[Ansary Muhammed]: 去年,我們當中的兩名年輕義工,他們取得了 P 牌。我讓我的妻子做了一個有紅色P字的P型的蛋糕。他們來到的時候,我們做的第一件事就是為他們兩人切蛋糕。之後,他們來給了我一個大擁抱,並說:「叔叔,感謝你做這事。」這只是慶祝他們的小成就,和鼓勵他們。

[Nadia Saeed]: 很好。我現在也想要一個蛋糕。

[Ansary Muhammed]: 你考到你的P 牌了嗎?

[Nadia Saeed]: 我已經取得了完全駕照,而且我仍然能夠保持著它,所以我們為此慶祝。

[Ali Kadri]: 那麼你需要一個大很多的蛋糕啊。你取得的是完全駕照,而不是P牌。

[Nadia Saeed]: 下一位想分享的是誰呀?

[Beny Bol]: 這就是我們作為一個社區須要知道、強調、慶祝的。社區中有那麼多人和才華是大眾不知道的。我們的責任是一同找出他們並突強調他們,以確保大眾認識他們。

[Nadia Saeed]: 你覺得有哪些關鍵的價值觀在我們的社區中最重要呢?

[Ree Ali]: 我覺得社區中關鍵的價值觀是正直、慷慨、同情心、不批判。我有信心我們的社區是包含了以上所有,而且我認為我們應該慶祝這點。

[Beny Bol]: 如果我要談論其中幾點,我想談論的是包容。這很重要。我們做的所有事情都是因為我們包容我們在觀點上以及所有東西上的差異。所以包容是很關鍵的,同情心和尊重在澳洲也是很關鍵的。即使你不同意某人的觀點,你仍然尊重他的觀點和所有東西。所以這就是連繫我們的其中一些價值觀。這也就是為何我們相比其他社會更和諧。

[Ali Kadri]: 我覺得還有尊重法律這個價值觀。很奇妙的是,即使是半夜,你仍然看見人們在紅燈前停車。這就是人們尊重法律。

[Ree Ali]: 當然,Ali。

[Nadia Saeed]: 我正想說。

[Ali Kadri]: 我的駕照上有滿分12 分。所以看到那樣是很好的。我覺得這很好,這會建立一個更好的社會。

[Nadia Saeed]: Ansary,你身為 Merciful Servants 的創始人,你的其中一個重點就是安排給予無家可歸者援助,在 COVID期間提供食物包。最近在二月洪災期間,以及任何自然災害期間,你永遠帶領安排義工幫忙,回饋社會。我想我要問你的問題就是究竟是甚麼燃起了你的熱情回饋社會並做那麼多工作呢?

[Ansary Muhammed]: 對我來說,回饋社會是因為我們來自一個非常貧困的家庭。我意思是當我十歲時我爸爸就去世了,我們是由我媽媽撫養成人的,我一直看見我們的困境和別人的困境。如果我看見別人在困境中,不論他們是誰和來自哪裡,我永遠要伸出援手幫助他們。因為我知道身處那種情況的感受是如何。最近我遇到了一個阿富汗家庭,我過去四個月都在幫助他們。嘗試幫助他們,替他們拿現金劵,幫助他們,替他們聯絡NZF穆斯林慈善機構,讓他們在那裡得到幫助。真的很奇妙,稍為鼓勵他們,跟他們談話,那就可以為他們的生命帶來一點改變。

[Nadia Saeed]: 你們所有人都在我們的社區做很了不起的事情。我想問你們的問題是,你想說甚麼啟發別人,使他們跟你一樣,在社區中工作呢?

[Ali Kadri]: 如果可以讓我先說的話,老實說,情況不是一帆風順的。有時真的很困難。我覺得令我繼續堅持下去的原因,就是我遇到一同在社區工作的人絕大部份都是善良的好人。當你跟他們相處,你可以從他們身上得到啟發和正能量。我覺得我希望給予所有人的訊息,包括我自己,就是有很多人都出於善心去做這事。你只須要走出去尋找,學會忘記、原諒別人和自己。

[Ree Ali]: 真的很慷慨。你奉上自己這麼多時間真的很慷慨,而你的收穫也很大,令人很滿足,令你感覺很好。你幫了別人令你感覺很好,這種感覺遠勝任何金錢價值。

[Beny Bol]: 我只想人們以成果作為動力,例如關注是你想得到甚麼結果,然後跟随志同道合的人,即是那些跟你想法一樣而不是那些很負面的人。你知道嗎?所以我的做法是我往往集中那些想法一致而且關注成果的人。他們不會關注外界說甚麼,而是關注我們要做甚麼。看到成果便自有分曉。這很重要。

[Ansary Muhammed]: 對我來說,成功與否就是看你是否謙卑,是否集中向著目標前進。以我為例子,我經常做義工。我是一名全職電器批發銷售經理,下班後我去幫助無家可歸者和進行年輕人相關活動。

[Ree Ali]: 我也想提及這點。我覺得在社區中工作的人…我已婚,有三名小孩。但是我們在家庭生活中抽出時間。我們很致力並很相信我們做的事,以致我們從家庭生活中抽出時間嘗試建立一個更好的社會。我們也是為我們的孩子而做這事。

[Nadia Saeed]: 你會給予我們的年輕人甚麼忠告呢?

[Ali Kadri]: 我想我會給予的忠告是未來是屬於你們的。保持正面,繼續堅持。

[Beny Bol]: 對我來說,我要說的是有一點很重要,就是你每天早上起來你做一個決定、一個選擇。那些選擇會決定你的未來,而且你的未來在你仍然很小的時候就已經決定了。那是很重要的。所以你不會在你長大了一點後才決定你的未來的。所以你年輕的時候你就要作出選擇,每天做的正確選擇就決定你的未來。

[Ree Ali]: 我會給予今天的年輕人的建議就是不要批判別人。儘量不要批判別人。在你先入為主前,先嘗試認識別人。

[Nadia Saeed]: 我很喜歡那點。那點影響深遠。

[Ansary Muhammed]: 我也很同意Benny的一點就是當你早上醒來的時候,你要有那種「我可以」的態度。

[Nadia Saeed]: 很好,謝謝。我覺得我身為一名青年領袖,能夠聽到你們所有人的故事和看見我們的前輩的成就,我真的很受啟發,希望我們也能做得到。我也同意有時情況會艱難,你可能會懷疑自己,或者是受不了,但是會有回報的。那是會令人上癮的,而我覺得那就是在社區中工作的好處之一。我想跟你們所有人說謝謝。感謝你們所做的一切,而且我很想看見你們的所有成就。謝謝你。

[Ali Kadri]: 謝謝你。

[Beny Bol]: Nadia,非常感謝你。你真的很棒。

[Ali Kadri]: Nadia,謝謝你。非常感謝你。做得好。

This post is also available in: English (英語) 简体中文 (簡體中文) Tiếng Việt (越南語) العربية (阿拉伯語)

On Thursday 29 February 2024 the Australian Values Program and its online engagement channels will be closed. We would like to thank everyone who shared their stories or engaged with the Australian Values Program in its three years of operation through the website, X, YouTube, Instagram and Facebook.

The values will continue to hold their place in our diverse and inclusive community through other initiatives, as well as playing an integral part of the visa application process and Australian Citizenship test. For more info visit the Australian Values page.

X

Australian Values Panel Discussion

What are the Australian values and what does it mean to be Australian? We’ve partnered with Academy Alive to find out. 

Watch host Nadia Saeed and our panellists Ali Kadri, Ree Ali, Ansary Muhammed and Beny Aterdit Bol OMA discuss the importance of community and our shared values.

Transcript:

[Nadia Saeed]: What does it mean to be Australian to you, and what are the values that speak to you the most?

[Beny Bol]: I think that’s a very good question. For me, being Australian is more about inclusion, social inclusion, democratic values, the importance of respect, and those are some of the values that resonate with me very strongly.

[Ali Kadri]: I think for me, being an Australian means being part of a community in a country which respects, accepts and celebrates diversity. And I think that is a key factor, which is not very much often found around the countries in the world.

[Ree Ali]: What I love about this country is the freedom of religion. I love the way that everyone’s able to practice their faith, and the other value that I really enjoy is the mateship one. I have noticed that Australia is so good at coming to someone’s aid when things go wrong. The way everyone just comes together and helps each other is incredible. I haven’t seen that anywhere else.

[Ansary Muhammed]: Being Australian is just, diversity, helping the community, just holding the hands and walking together as one family.

[Ali Kadri]: There are very few countries where you could truly say that you’re free as a citizen, as an individual, and I think Australia is one of those countries where you can say you’re free. You can say what you want to say. You can do whatever you want to do, as long as it doesn’t harm anyone else.

[Beny Bol]: Absolutely, yeah. And I think that brings us to the importance of institutions that have been created for a very long time. And when you look at the environment those institutions actually create for all of us, and we come together and do everything that we do regardless of our religious, ethnic, and political views, where all these people from religious, racial, and ethnic background come together, celebrating and actually acknowledging each other. And when you look at other countries, other nations, they can’t do the same thing. And that brings you to the importance of the system and the institutions that actually treat everyone equally, regardless of your position in the society.

[Beny Bol]: So these are the things that we must be very proud of as Australians because there are not many societies or nations that enjoy those kind of privileges and that’s one of the things I like about this country.

[Nadia Saeed]: Can you please tell us a little bit about what inspires you to do the work in the community?

[Ali Kadri]: I think for me, in particular, I believe that I’m privileged by the virtue of being in this country. And that comes with certain responsibilities, and that is to maintain the values of Australia and what Australia means, and give some, and leave some legacy, and contribute to making this country better for the future. Because look, it’s up to all of us who are here, lucky enough to be here, to contribute in not just ensuring it remains so, but becomes better.

[Beny Bol]: I came to Australia in 2007 on a humanitarian visa, and I came with nothing. And I realised that a few years later, I was being celebrated everywhere, and that’s because I have been empowered. I’ve been empowered by the people in this country. I’ve been empowered by the system, and they have seen something in me. And that means that if we empower people and give them the opportunity, you can never tell what people are bringing with them, you know?

[Beny Bol]: When I came, nobody knew what I got, my ability and all of that. I came with nothing, I went to university here, got two master’s degrees, and I would have not actually been able to realise the potential somewhere else if it wasn’t in Australia. And I thought this is something you need to do to other people as well, to empower everyone, to make sure that they realise their dreams and potential and the importance of living that life of purpose.

So how do you want to be remembered as a person? Because you’re not going to live forever and you don’t know when you’re going to leave this life, so you’ve got to do something, empower people and to be remembered for what you’ve done.

[Nadia Saeed]: Do you have any advice on how we can encourage all Australians to show solidarity and respect for one another and acceptance of all people?

[Ree Ali]: Now, my aim has always been to break down the barriers and the perceptions that people have of people of different faiths. Regardless of what religion you come from, you still have a bias. Most of us have a bias because of the cultural upbringings we’ve had in our own relevant countries. And when we come to Australia, we realise that we’re actually living, working, commuting with those people that perhaps we’ve been told not to mix with.

So what’s the best way to get to understand them is by bringing them together. If you bring people together over very casual conversations, over a cup of tea, a biscuit, a coffee. Build those friendships first, and then you can state, “Oh, by the way, I’m from.” And what I would love to see is more youth groups from different religious places of worship come together.

[Ansary Muhammed]: So for me, when we started the homeless run eight years ago, and we were just with another organisation called Rosies, they’re a Christian organisation, completely different to our faith. And that’s a beauty about Islam is that we invite everyone. It shouldn’t be just one religion helping on the street. Firstly, we are all human beings. So it’s amazing, you know, just being Australian, being diverse, working with a group, regardless of religion or race, where you come from, and just having that opportunity to represent yourself.

[Ali Kadri]: I think that is worth protecting. That is what being an Australian is all about. Being divisive is not being an Australian. I think being uniting is what being Australian is all about.

[Nadia Saeed]: Can you tell us a little bit about the challenges that are faced by multicultural communities in Australia and how we can overcome some of those challenges?

[Ali Kadri]: A lot of multicultural communities feel conflicted about their identities, you know, whether it’s a religious identity. And that is sometimes because of some rhetoric which they see on social media. I talk to a lot of young people in my school and although they’ve been born and brought up in Australia, sometimes they feel that they’re not Australians, they’re not accepted. And that’s a challenge, you know, a huge challenge, an identity crisis if you like, which a lot of young people go through, young Australians go through.

[Beny Bol]: Yeah, I definitely agree with Ali. I think it’s very important to see people growing into leadership roles in different sectors. And that will also inspire the younger people to see themselves that they have the opportunity here, they can make it at any level.

[Nadia Saeed]: Can you tell me a little bit about what has continued your passion to work with young people from your community?

[Beny Bol]: Well, just a few things. It’s my family values around hard work and the importance of compassion. And also knowing that we are the best solution to our problems and the challenges, the young people face. It’s the young people themselves, the youth, who are the best solution to those problems.

[Beny Bol]: There’s a trend now happening in a number of CALD communities where relatively younger people are stepping up into the leadership role. And you can see a lot of positive change and energy everywhere, and a lot of elders actually standing behind them and supporting them. And that’s what we need to encourage.

[Nadia Saeed]: What does religious freedom mean to you and why is religious freedom important in Australia, including the freedom of no religion?

[Ali Kadri]: Look, I think religious freedom is important because, while the Australian state has no religion, all religions, which are being practiced in Australia, are Australian religions. You know, so Islam, Christianity, Hinduism, Judaism, or whatever you call it, whatever religion you follow are Australian religions. You know, they’re not foreign to Australia. And then the people who choose not to follow religion are also equally Australian, but what binds us together is our nationality, and we have to respect our freedoms, whether it’s freedom to follow a religion or freedom to not follow religion. And once we come to that understanding, we will not be so judgemental on each other.

[Beny Bol]: I like to learn from history. And when you look at the history of the world and if you look at the peace, stability and prosperity that’s being experienced by different nations, it’s because of those values grounded under freedom of religion, freedom of speech. And that’s very important.

[Ansary Muhammed]: And the beauty about the culture in Australia is that you can go down the mosque and pray, or you can go to the church. It’s all open doors, and you can go anywhere, it doesn’t matter what religion or where you’re from.

[Nadia Saeed]: All migrants bring quite a rich history and culture to Australia. Why is this so important?

[Ree Ali]: Migrants do bring a rich, a very rich history and culture to Australia. And I think it’s a brilliant opportunity for mainstream Australians to learn about it, because at the end of the day, we need to know the world is smaller. Don’t you think? The world is the smallest it’s ever been now, and getting to know people from different cultures and faiths is so much easier now than it ever was before. It’s so important to teach our children and feel proud that their ancestors built this country.

[Nadia Saeed]: What are some of the most memorable or rewarding moments that you’ve experienced while working in communities?

[Beny Bol]: Between 2018 – 2019, when there were incidents involving our young people and these stories about African youth crime and I was doing a lot of interviews every day. And every single day that I appear on media, the overwhelming messages that were coming were not from the African community. They’re from all different people, political leaders and community leaders and different community members who were concerned about me as a person first. And they would send me a message. Are you okay? Take it easy. We are with you and all of that. And that gave me like a sense of relief and happiness and appreciation of Australia as a country.

[Nadia Saeed]: That’s incredible, showing that the strength and your relationships and mutual respect. So thank you, Beny.

[Ali Kadri]: And I think one more thing I’ll add very quickly on this one, you remember the Christchurch attack? Straight after the Christchurch attack, we did a community event at the Islamic College of Brisbane, and more than 4,000 people showed up. But, you know, while that tragedy occurred, it brought a lot more people together and there was so much sense of solidarity. And as a Muslim myself, I felt while the pain was there, it was a little bit lessened and there was hope for the future. And I think that incident became a catalyst for unity, and that credit goes to values we have as Australians.

[Nadia Saeed]: That Christchurch event is what really continued my passion in community to break down barriers, and not just come together when something negative happens, but, you know, celebrating together and just enjoying that we are in such a beautiful country. We have freedom. We have mutual respect. There’s a fair go for everyone. But my question to you is, what are the things that we can celebrate?

[Ansary Muhammed]: Last year, two of our youngsters, our homeless volunteers, they actually got P licence. I got my wife to make a cake in a P-shape with a red “P.” And they came along, and the first thing we did was cutting the cake for both of them. After that they came in and gave me a big hug and said, “Thank you uncle for doing it.” And it’s just celebrating the little wins and encouraging them too.

[Nadia Saeed]: Wonderful. I’m expecting a cake now too.

[Ansary Muhammed]: Have you got your Ps?

[Nadia Saeed]: I’ve got my full licence now, and I’ve still managed to keep it so we’re celebrating that.

[Ali Kadri]: You need a much bigger cake for a full license, not just the “P”.

[Nadia Saeed]: Who would like to go next?

[Beny Bol]: And this is something we need to know as a community, you know, to highlight and to celebrate. There’s so many people out there in the community and hidden talent that the public doesn’t know. And it is our responsibility collectively to identify those people and highlight them, make sure that the public knows about them.

[Nadia Saeed]: What are the key values that you think shine through within our community?

[Ree Ali]: So the key values, I think, that shine through in our community is integrity, generosity, compassion, and non-judgmental. I’m confident that all our communities are all of those things. And I think we should celebrate that.

[Beny Bol]: If I were to point out a couple of things, I would talk about tolerance. Very important. And all of the things that we are doing is because we tolerate our differences in terms of opinions and everything. So tolerance is so critical, and also compassion here in Australia and respect. You know, even though you don’t agree with someone, you still respect their opinions and everything. So this is some of the values that have actually binded us together. And that’s why we are so harmonious compared to other societies.

[Ali Kadri]: And I think the value of respecting the rule of law. It’s amazing to see that even at midnight, people stop at red lights here. You know, and that’s people respecting the law.

[Ree Ali]: Sure, Ali.

[Nadia Saeed]: Yeah, I was gonna say.

[Ali Kadri]: Full 12 points on my license. So, you know, it’s good to see that. I think it’s good, it creates for a better society.

[Nadia Saeed]: Ansary, as the founder of Merciful Servants, a key focus of yours is organising homeless runs, delivering food packs during COVID, and most recently in the floods in February, and in any natural disaster, always taking the lead on organising volunteers and really giving back to our community. I guess my question to you is, what really ignited your passion to give back to the community and do so much work?

[Ansary Muhammed]: For me, giving back is, we came from a very poor family. I mean, my father passed away when I was 10 and mum raised us. And I always see, you know, we struggled, and there’s a lot of people that struggle. If I see someone struggling, it doesn’t matter who they are or where they’re from, I’ll always have to reach my hands out there to help them, because I know what it feels like to be in that situation. And recently, I came across this family, Afghani family, and I’ve been helping them for the last four months. Try to help them up. Getting vouchers, helping them, putting them towards, like, linking them to NZF – a Muslim charitable foundation where they can get assistance. And it’s just amazing, you know – encouraging them a little bit and talking to them, and I’m going to make a difference to their life.

[Nadia Saeed]: So you all do an absolutely incredible job in our communities. So my question to you would be, what could you say to others to be inspired to work within communities the way that you might have?

[Ali Kadri]: Look, if I may start, it’s not always sunshine. You know, sometimes it’s very difficult. I think what keeps me going is when I come across people, overwhelmingly, the majority of the people who work in the community sector are kind-hearted and good people. And when you engage with them, you draw inspiration and positive energy out of them. And I think that would be the message I’d give, not just to everyone, but myself as well, that, you know, there are a lot of people who are doing this for good reasons. You just need to go, seek out, learn to forget, forgive people and yourself.

[Ree Ali]: It’s so giving, it’s so giving. You give so much of your time, don’t you, and you get so much back and, but it’s so fulfilling, you feel so good. And the fact that you’ve helped someone makes you feel good, far more than any monetary value.

[Beny Bol]: I just want people to be outcome-driven, you know. Like focusing on what you want to achieve and then surround yourself with like-minded people, people who actually think the same way rather than like those who are very negative. You know? So the thing that I do, I usually focus on those who are like-minded and those who are outcome-driven. They’re not focusing on what’s being said out there, but what is it that we need to do? And the outcome will speak for itself. That’s very important.

[Ansary Muhammed]: And for me, success is always looking at, you know, you humble yourself, you focus yourself to reach somewhere. Like for me, I volunteer myself a lot. I work full-time as an Electrical Wholesale Manager, and then after hours I go out and do my homeless run and activity with the youth.

[Ree Ali]: I’d like to touch on that as well. I think people who work in community…you know, I’m married, I have three children, but we take time out of our family life. And because we are so committed and we so believe in what we are doing, that we do take time out of our family life to try and achieve a better society. And we’re doing it for our children too.

[Nadia Saeed]: What advice would you give to our youth?

[Ali Kadri]: Look, I think the advice I would give is the future is yours. Keep being positive and keep going.

[Beny Bol]: For me, it will be to say, it’s important that every day you wake up and make a decision, a choice. Those choices determine your future, and your future is determined when you are still very young. That’s very important. So you’re not going to determine the kind of future you’re going to live when you get older. So when you are young is when you need to make the choice, the right choices every single day, and they will determine your future.

[Ree Ali]: The advice I would give the youth of today is to not be judgemental. Try your hardest not to judge anyone, get to know them first before you make decisions on anyone.

[Nadia Saeed]: I love that one. That could go very far.

[Ansary Muhammed]: And I’ll agree with Beny as well. When you wake up in the morning, you need to have that ‘can do’ attitude.

[Nadia Saeed]: Wonderful. Thank you. I think as a youth leader myself, it’s really inspiring to listen to all of your stories and seeing what our elders have accomplished and what we can hopefully be able to do as well. And I agree that it can get hard, there’s times where you kind of second-guess yourself or it’s a bit too much, but it is so rewarding. It’s addictive, and I think that’s one of the best parts of working in communities. And I’d like to say thank you to everyone. Thank you for all the work that you do, and I’m keen to see everything that you can all accomplish. Thank you.

[Ali Kadri]: Thank you.

[Beny Bol]: Thank you very much, Nadia. You’ve been amazing.

[Ali Kadri]: Thanks, Nadia. Thank you so much. Well done.

Nadia Saeed and Ali Kadri credit the freedoms, mutual respect and fair go we have as Australians to our Australian values.

Learn about the Australian values.

This post is also available in: 简体中文 (Chinese (Simplified)) 繁體中文 (Chinese (Traditional)) العربية (Arabic) Tiếng Việt (Vietnamese)